Detail Page

Winter Term Awards Announced

The winter term awards ceremony planned for March 27 was unable to take place due to the closing of campus related to the coronavirus pandemic. The academic, athletic and Dramat awards that would have been announced at the ceremony follow, along with some remarks about the term presented by Director of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs Lisa McGrath.

Academic Awards
Director of Studies Bill Sistare announced the following academic awards:

Third Form Summus
Kalilah Akbar, Caroline Bartley, Lucy Benoit, Dylan Bloom, Sam Bradley, Francesca Carnovale, Maris Cathcart, Ethan Cramer, Thomas Cramer, Stuart Dorman, Olivia Fernandez, Jay Henry, Oliver Hocking, Owen Huang, Tiffany Hui, Annie Kim, Alice Liu, Ava Lynch, Tia MacDonald, Emma Mason, Joshua Mason, Christopher Paolella, Simone Routledge, Whitney Stroh, Elizabeth Symonds, Claire Yao, Grace Yuan, Heather Zhu    

Fourth Form Summus
Callista Adorno, Nina Ahl, Oscar Ball, James Beit, Sung Min Cho, Mason Cilmi, Lara Connor, Michaela Crabtree-Crowley, Grace Cristini, Samantha de Kanter, Ellen Dorrian, Margot Douglass, Yufei Hong, Jeremy Hopsicker, Cooper Kistler, Max Larock, Serin Lee, Daniel Lurie, Jamai Miller, Qifei Min, Baker Morton, Isaac Mullen, Samuel Obeng, Shelby Oken, Olivia Olney, Jonah Prentiss, Molly Rubin, Kellen Seeley, Alex Shao, Elise Strawbridge, Carolyn Sutro, Alexander Unruh, John Van Leuven, Sawyer von Jess

Fifth Form Summus
Isabel Bailey, Aleyna Baki, Francesca Bradley, Anne Brewer, Alexandra Buerck, Amanda Busky, Charlotte Carrel, Adam Cerny, Olivia Goldstuck, David Harris, Leonid Kolomeiskii, Jessie Kwon, India Lalor, Jean-Claude Lane, Teddy Mangiarotti, Allison Masthay, Alison Mayer, Grant McCargo, Dylan McLamore, Ann O’Shea, Tunji Osho-Williams, Matthew Park, Simonne Ponce, Eliza Roach, Peter Sanger, Edward Shin, Katherine Sotirhos, Hudson Stedman, Claire Taylor, Elizabeth Thorson, Kien To, Alisa Toner, James Vincent, Michelle Wu, Hope Zimmerman    

Sixth Form Summus
Taylor Adams, Ryan Badour, Eve Cathcart, Eda Chen, Olivia Chou, Abigail Davis, Mary Dutton, Justin Flaks, Dylan Foster, Juan Garibay, Alison Hatfield, Benjamin Huisman, Geena Kim, Michelle Kim, Jaclyn Laplante, Mikaila Lupoli, William Lynch, Daniela Mays-Sanchez, Elizabeth McCoy, Ryan Messina, Roman Mitchell, Laura Mittelman, Jacob Monroe, Justin Parsons, Phalla Phoap, Daniel Pinckney, Cecilia Raymond, Megan Rittenhouse, Isabel Sanchez, Rebecca Sargent, Liam Seeley, Elizabeth Suit, Aleksandra Szopa, Christopher Turino, Bethany Winters, Vernita Zhai, Olivia Zhang    

Athletic Awards
Director of Athletics Tim Joncas ’00 presents an overview of the winter season.

He also announced the following awards:

The Berry Awards, which are named in honor of former faculty member Richard P. “Scott” Berry and recognize the player from each lower team who gave the best effort and demonstrated the best attitude throughout the season, were given to:

Second Boys’ Basketball: Roman Mitchell
Third Boys’ Basketball: Sam Bradley
Second Boys’ Hockey: Sawyer von Jess
Third Boys’ Hockey: Ben Ferrell    
Second Girls’ Hockey: Susie Mahoney        
Second Boys’ Squash: Charlie von Stade    
Third Boys’ Squash: Jerry Wang
Second Girls’ Squash: Daniele Mays Sanchez        
Third Girls’ Squash: Michaela Crabtree-Crowley    

First Team Awards

First Boys’ Basketball
Most Improved Player: Owen Larson
Keyes Foul Shooting Award: Gabe Charleston
Donald H. Werner Most Valuable Player: Teddy Mangiarotti
First Girls’ Basketball
Most Improved Player: Mariama Camara
Keyes Foul Shooting Award: Bianca D’Onofrio
Most Valuable Player: Bella Tawney
First Boys’ Hockey
Most Improved Player: Quinn Armstrong
Most Valuable Player: Darion Benchich
First Girls’ Hockey
Most Improved Player: Amelia Molin
Most Valuable Player: Taylor Adams
First Boys’ Squash
Talbot/Edwards Most Improved Player: Travis Paulsen
Fritz Zeller Most Valuable Player: Jack Turvey
First Girls’ Squash
Talbot/Edwards Most Improved Player: Georgia Nolan
Fritz Zeller Most Valuable Player: Ellie Bailey
First Boys’ Swimming and Diving
Most Improved Swimmer/Diver: Eddie Shin
Preston “Pete” P. Test Most Valuable Swimmer/Diver: Max Larock
First Girls’ Swimming and Diving
Most Improved Swimmer/Diver: Ellie Thorson
Most Valuable Swimmer/Diver: Lucy Benoit    

The Stephen Harris Squibb Bowl Awards, which honor the athlete from each first team who demonstrated the greatest sportsmanship, consistent effort and inspired performance throughout the season, were given to:

First Boys’ Basketball: Jack Devlin
First Girls’ Basketball: Bethany Winters
First Boys’ Hockey: Ned Blanchard
First Girls’ Hockey: Megan Rittenhouse
First Boys’ Squash: Jack Turvey
First Girls’ Squash: Rebecca Sargent
First Boys’ Swimming and Diving: Daniel Pinckney
First Girls’ Swimming and Diving: Cecilia Raymond

All-League Founders Awards
The All-Founders League Award is given to two members of each first team in recognition of those student athletes who best exemplify the league ideals of sportsmanship, hard work and character in the spirit of competition and fair play at the varsity level.

First Boys’ Basketball: Jack Devlin, Teddy Mangiarotti
First Girls’ Basketball: Samantha de Kanter, Bethany Winters
First Boys’ Hockey: Ryan Pineault, Ben Huisman
First Girls’ Hockey: Abby Munger, Megan Rittenhouse
First Boys’ Squash: Jack Turvey
First Girls’ Squash: Ellie Bailey, Rebecca Sargent
First Boys’ Swimming and Diving: Max Larock, Hudson Stedman
First Girls’ Swimming and Diving: Lucy Benoit, Cecilia Raymond

The Hopley-Jackson Award, which is given to the Westminster lower team with the best season, was presented to:
Second Girls’ Hockey
Coaches: Wyatt Prominski, Andrea Thomas
The Frederick D. Houghton Award, which is given to the Westminster team with the best season, was presented to:
First Girls’ Hockey
Coaches: Jess Keough, Kelcie Finn
Captains: Abigail Munger, Megan Rittenhouse

To showcase the excitement of this winter’s athletic season, Phalla Phoap ’20 created a highlights presentation..

Performing Arts
Director of Theater A-men Rasheed announced the recipient of the Frances Laurel Hopkins Award, which is given to a student for outstanding contributions to the Westminster Dramat Association, as Karen Newton.

The newest members of Dramat, the student dramatic organization contributing at least 100 hours to a Dramat production, were announced as Alexa Dailey, Jackson Davies, Annie Kim, Alison Mayer and Claire Yao.

The newest member of the Williams Hill Players, requiring a total of 400 hours of work on Westminster Drama productions, was announced as Elena McGuigan.


Contact Us

995 Hopmeadow Street
Simsbury, Connecticut 06070

P. (860) 408-3000
F. (860) 408 3001
Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy as to Students
Westminster admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the School; and Westminster does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered program.
© Copyright 2020 Westminster School  |  Privacy Policy