Achievements of the Fall Term Recognized

Headmaster Bill Philip began the fall term awards ceremony Nov. 29 by welcoming everyone back from the Thanksgiving break and expressing appreciation to those who participated in recent school events that took place off campus. He then introduced Tony Griffith, director of student life and head of the Mathematics Department, who spoke about the fall term.
“Today is a great day to be a Martlet,” exclaimed Tony. “Actually, every day is a great day to be a Martlet, but I especially like today because we get to take a moment to think about the fall term and to engage in the lost art of reflection.”
He told the students that while their grades and test scores are important, “I also want you to know that what matters the most is your character, how you treat each other and how you represent yourself, your family and your school. In other words, how well you do in the classroom of life.” He cited examples throughout the fall term of students and faculty members who are examples of “people achieving highly in the classroom of humanity.”
He closed by saying that when people ask him what he is doing at Westminster he can talk about wanting to make a difference but added, “I know that what I am really doing is helping you be people who put themselves out there.”
Academic Awards
Director of Studies Bill Sistare and the deans presented the following academic awards:
Third Form Summus:
Callista Adorno, Sung Min Cho, Ashlyn Clapprood, Samantha de Kanter, Bennett Ghriskey, Yufei Hong, Jeremy Hopsicker, Max Larock, Isabella Mattson, Isaac Mullen, Samuel Obeng, Shelby Oken, Olivia Olney, Jonah Prentiss, Molly Rubin, Kellen Seeley, Margaux Sorenson, Lara Stone, Alexander Tonioni, Alexander Unruh, William Warner,
Fourth Form Summus:
Isabel Bailey, Aleyna Baki, Francesca Bradley, Anne Brewer, Alexandra Buerck, Olivia Goldstuck, Jenna Kosior, India Lalor, Jean-Claude Lane, Choong Yoon Lee, Hanxiao Li, Allison Masthay, Alison Mayer, Grant McCargo, Shui Se Phoe, Simonne Ponce, Hudson Stedman, Claire Taylor, Elizabeth Thorson, Diana Tsibikova, Sasha van Vredenburch
Fifth Form Summus:
Ryan Badour, Eve Cathcart, Eda Chen, Chieh Chou, Mary Dutton, Justin Flaks, Juan Garibay, Carter Henshaw, Ben Huisman, Jungmin Kim, Jaclyn Laplante, William Lynch, Angelesia Ma, Susanne Mahoney, Daniela Mays-Sanchez, Laura Mittelman, Jacob Monroe, Brooke Nani, Solveig Nycander,
Justin Parsons, Aidan Petrie, Phalla Phoap, Daniel Pinckney, Cecilia Raymond, Isabel Sanchez, Rebecca Sargent, Liam Seeley, Elizabeth Suit, Aleksandra Szopa, Quoc Anh Truong, Christopher Turino, Vernita Zhai, Olivia Zhang
Sixth Form Summus:
Annabel Bradley, Andrew Brownback, Sean Clarke, Blake Cote, Megan Cournoyer, Emmett de Kanter, Kaitlyn Eddy, Carl Ekholm, Layla Ennis,
Natalie Fay, Audrey Froelich, Alexander Hu, Vladyslav Ivanchuk, Hannah Kaye, Shannon Keefe, Lucinda Keenan, Klaudia Khegay, Julia Krys, Kevin Kuang, Jesse Kulynych-Griffith, Sofia Kuusisto, Yoonah Lee, Alexandra Lin, Caroline McCausland, Henry Mitrano, Jane Ogden, Jillian Parsons, Reese Poe, Eliza Polukhin, Sofia Raymond, Carson Roth, Natalie Rubin, Justin Schuster, Lennox Stuart, Georgia Swank, Dinh Anh Truong, Madeline Vanech, Isabel von Bargen-Burke, Vincent Wang, Celenah Watson, Scott Wilson
Athletic Awards
Director of Athletics Tim Joncas and coaches then presented the following fall athletic awards:
Berry Awards
Named in honor of faculty member Richard P. Scott Berry, the Berry Awards recognize the player from each lower team who gave the best effort and demonstrated the best attitude throughout the season.
Second Field Hockey: Eliza Polukhin
Second Boys’ Soccer: Jonah Prentiss
Third Boys’ Soccer: Kendrick Freeman
Fourth Boys’ Soccer: Jack Kelly
Second Girls’ Soccer: Caroline McCausland
Third Girls’ Soccer: Olivia Olney
Second Boys’ Cross Country: David DeFronzo
First Team Awards
First Field Hockey:
Pitcairn Most Valuable Player: Shannon Keefe
Most Improved Player: Mandy Busky
First Boys’ Soccer:
The 1956 Most Valuable Player: Nathan Costantino
Wilbraham Most Improved Player: Lukas Dudzik
First Girls’ Soccer:
Most Valuable Player: Blake Cote
Most Improved Player: Ella Verano
First Boys’ Cross Country:
Jones Most Valuable Runner: Emmett de Kanter
Most Improved Player: Will Rizzo
First Girls’ Cross Country:
Wilbur Most Valuable Runner: Annabelle Smith
Most Improved Player: Bella Tawney
Water Polo:
Most Improved Player: Layton Harmon
Most Valuable Player: Jeremy Hopsicker     
The Stephen Harris Squibb Bowl awards, which honor the athlete from each first team who demonstrated the greatest sportsmanship, consistent effort and inspired performance throughout the season, were given to:
First Boys’ Cross Country: Justin Schuster
First Girls’ Cross Country: Maggie Chaves
First Field Hockey: Megan Rittenhouse       
Water Polo: Max Larock
First Boys’ Soccer: Scott Wilson
First Girls’ Soccer: Georgia Swank
The Hopley-Jackson Award, which is given to the Westminster lower team with the best season, was presented to:
Fourth Boys’ Soccer
Coach: Tony Griffith
The Frederick D. Houghton Award, which is given to the Westminster team(s) with the best season, was presented to:
First Boys’ Cross Country
Coaches: Mark de Kanter, Mike Greenwald
Captains: Emmett de Kanter, Justin Schuster, Elliott Kennard
First Boys’ Soccer
Coaches: Jay Keough, Charlie Griffith
Captains: Nate Pane, Sean Clarke, Scott Wilson
Performing Arts
Theater Director A-men Rasheed presented the Frances Laurel Hopkins Award, which is given to a student for outstanding contributions to the Westminster Dramat Association, to Dylan Foster.
The president of Dramat introduced the newest members of Dramat, the student dramatic organization requiring 100 hours of service, as Nathalie Charles, Ashlyn Clapprood, Hannah Kaye, Elena McGuigan, Eva Pfeiffer, Shui Se Phoe, Lara Stone, Andrea Warrick.
The newest members of the Williams Hill Players, requiring 400 hours of service, are Curtis Brockelman, Dylan Foster.

Westminster School

995 Hopmeadow Street, Simsbury, CT 06070
(860) 408-3000
Westminster School is a private, coeducational boarding and day school for students in grades 9-12 and Postgraduate, located in Simsbury, Connecticut. The suburban New England campus is midway between New York City and Boston. In keeping with our support for a diverse community, Westminster abides by all applicable federal and state laws and does not discriminate on the basis of any protected characteristic, including race, color, religious creed, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, ancestry and/or disability.

© 2019 All Rights Reserved