Detail Page

Academic Awards Ceremony

Students and faculty gathered in Werner Centennial Center Nov. 5 for an awards ceremony to recognize a number of achievements from the 2020-2021 academic year. Head of School Elaine White welcomed everyone, saying, “It is wonderful to be together to celebrate excellence at Westminster.” 
She explained that, traditionally, a modified version of the awards ceremony occurs during Parents and Family Weekend, but because of the remaining pandemic challenges, decisions were made to support the health of the community, and one of those decisions included limiting attendance at the event to the immediate school community and moving it from Parents and Family Weekend.
“Today, we will also celebrate some additional prize recipients,” she explained. “In the interest of safety last year, we postponed some of the underformer book prizes traditionally awarded at graduation because underformers finished their academic classes and went home prior to graduation. Today, we have the opportunity to celebrate those prize recipients in person. 
“While not everyone in our midst today will be called to the stage, it is important to remember that no prize recipient who graces the stage today achieves that success by themselves. This is a community that supports one another, and these recipients in part owe their success to the support, encouragement and engagement of their peers, faculty and families. Let us be proud of one another and continue to create a community that encourages each and every one of us to thrive.” 
Academic Dean Bill Sistare and Director of Studies Betsy Heckman presented the following awards with the assistance of the form deans:
Summus Awards (spring term 2021)
Summus Awards recognize academic excellence in each form as determined by overall grade point average for that term. 
Class of 2024  
Carolyn Cheng, Haley Cramer, Morgan Curtis, Nora Davis, Johnny Hadden, Madison Khuu, Tarapi Pyo, David Suit, Jacqueline Wu
Class of 2023
Lucy Benoit, Sam Bradley, Maris Cathcart, Alice Liu, Tia MacDonald, Hayden Raycraft, Mike Yang, Grace Yuan, Allen Zhou
Class of 2022
JY Bak, Sung Min Cho, Elle Dorrian, Taylor Hill, Jeremy Hopsicker, Qifei Min, Isaac Mullen, Sam Obeng, Shelby Oken, Gabriela Palmowska, Jonah Prentiss, Elise Strawbridge
The Advanced Placement Program recognizes students for outstanding performances on AP Exams.
AP Scholar
Students who earned scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams:
Callista Adorno, JY Bak, Peter Barrett, James Beit, Lucy Benoit, Jack Carter, Maris Cathcart, Lara Connor, Margot Douglas, Taylor Hill, Baker Morton, Isaac Mullen, Olivia Olney, Cecilia Owen, Agee Peters, Grand Tantichot, Will Warner, Benno Wurts
AP Scholar with Honor
Students who earned an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scored 3 or higher on four or more of these exams:
Caroline Cochener, Tiffany Hui, Bella Mattson, Jamai Miller, Sam Obeng, Johan Prentiss
AP Scholar with Distinction
Students who earned an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken and scored 3 or higher on five or more exams:
Sung Min Cho, Ashlyn Clapprood, Samantha de Kanter, Serin Lee, Lily Marvin, Qifei Min, Molly Rubin, Alex Shao, Janessa Yan, Grace Yuan
At the end of each academic year, academic departments award book prizes to students who distinguish themselves in various areas of study. These prizes are awarded to Third, Fourth and Fifth Formers in the fall and are presented by members of the faculty.
Excellence in Biology
Sung Min Cho ’22    
Fifth Form History Essay Prize
Wheatley Sutro ’22                              
The Robert Rodney History Prize
Carolyn Cheng ’24                     
WALKS Constitutional Essay Finalists
Sung Min Cho ’22 and Olivia Olney ’22 
Richard P. Hopley Excellence in Latin
Sung Min Cho ’22
The Kevin Kwok-Fun Chau ’79 Prize for Excellence in Chinese
Spencer Kwan ’22
The Fifth Form Book Prizes, which are supplied by the designated colleges, recognize the top scholars in the Class of 2022 based on their academic work through their Fifth Form year. They were presented by Head of School White and Associate Dean of Faculty and Form Dean Lee Huguley.
Harvard-Radcliffe Book Prize: Sung Min Cho ’22
The Harvard-Radcliffe Book Prize is awarded to a member of the Fifth Form who displays enthusiasm for all academic pursuits, has a remarkable capability for insightful communication and displays leadership throughout the school.
Yale Book Award: Samuel Obeng ’22
The Yale Book is awarded to a member of the Fifth Form whose curiosity and abilities as a critical writer and thinker are complemented by their inclusivity and desire to serve the community.
Williams Book Award: Qifei Min ’22
The Williams Book is awarded to a member of the Fifth Form who brings positivity to all of their endeavors and has achieved at the highest level in a range of classes, with a special interest in history and creative writing
Trinity Book Award: Isaac Mullen ’22
The Trinity Book is awarded to a member of the Fifth Form whose passions span architecture, sciences and the humanities, and who amplifies the academic tenor in every classroom through their intellect and kindness.
Form Bowls are given in recognition of a student’s commitment to and personification of the values that Westminster holds dear: grit, grace, community, character, balance, involvement. The recipient of each bowl is determined by vote of the full faculty, a determination which is made at the end of the previous year. 
Head of School White was joined by the current year’s form dean who presented the recipient with a book award. The actual bowl, with the recipient’s name inscribed upon it, resides in Keyes Study where it enjoys a place of honor all year long.  
The John G. Butler Bowl: Carolyn Cheng ’24
The Butler Bowl recognizes a student in the Third Form for character and leadership.
Adams Bowl: Catherine Rodrigues ’23
The Adams Bowl is presented annually to a member of the Fourth Form who best embodies the qualities of Richard and Barbara Adams, who gave devoted service to Westminster for over 40 years, showing outstanding personal qualities and concern for the community and unwavering dedication to students. Barbara Adams served on the faculty from 1995-2011, and Dick served on the faculty from 1970-2013.
Wilbraham Bowl: Priscilla Ameyaw ’22
The Wilbraham Bowl is given to a member of the Fifth Form who best embodies the qualities of Geoffrey Wilbraham, who gave distinguished and loyal service to Westminster from 1958-1994: high personal standards, consistent respect for others, unswerving commitment to the common good, steady insistence on fair play and abiding human decency.

Contact Us

995 Hopmeadow Street
Simsbury, Connecticut 06070

P. (860) 408-3000
F. (860) 408 3001
Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy as to Students
In keeping with our support for a diverse community, Westminster abides by all applicable federal and state laws and does not discriminate on the basis of any protected characteristic, including race, color, religious creed, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national and ethnic origin, ancestry and/or disability in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered program. Westminster admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the School. 
© Copyright 2022 Westminster School  |  Privacy Policy
AP® and Advanced Placement® are registered trademarks of the College Board. Used with permission.