Detail Page

Faculty and Staff Commended for Accomplishments

The academic year concluded at Westminster with a faculty and staff luncheon May 26 in Armstrong Dining Hall where departing faculty and staff were recognized for their contributions to school life, and a number of faculty members were presented awards. In addition, Westminster’s Director of Health Services, Dr. Davis Smith, was recognized for his extraordinary contributions to Westminster’s Covid-19 Task Force.
Tributes were given to departing faculty members Stacy Ciarlegio, Craig DeCiancia, Katie Mayopoulos, Lisa McGrath and Claudia McGuigan, as well as departing longtime staff members Assistant Business Manager Carol Kirsch and Assistant to the Head of School Diana Evans.
Long tenures at the school were acknowledged for both staff and faculty:
Forty years of service: Dana Guay
Thirty years of service: Mike Stein and Jeff Brignano
Twenty-five years of service: Gary Ransom
Faculty Twenty-Year Service Pin:
David Chrzanowski
Tony Griffith
Mary Pat Gritzmacher
Director of Athletics Tim Joncas shared that The Founders League had awarded the 2021 M.D. Nadal Sportsmanship Award to Mitch Overbye, Westminster’s longtime softball coach and senior associate director of admissions.
The following faculty awards and academic chairs were announced:
The Swayze Award:              
Presented annually in honor of distinguished alumnus, trustee and former chair of the Board of Trustees Townsend Swayze ’55, this award is given to a member of the faculty for outstanding contributions to the life of the school.
Greg Williams
The O’Brien Award:             
This award is presented annually in honor of Marianna and Junie O’Brien P’81, who devoted their lives in service to young people and to schools. It recognizes a member of the faculty who has, over the course of the year, been especially selfless and generous with time and care in the nurture and support of students and whose extraordinary, ongoing personal commitment to young people sets an example to the Westminster community.
Grant Gritzmacher
C. Hiram Upson Family Chair:
The C. Hiram Upson Family Chair for faculty in the humanities who are master teachers of writing rotates every five years and was made possible through the generosity of C. Hiram Upson ’50, P’86, who served on the Westminster Board of Trustees for 11 years.     
Arianna Vailas
Coumantaros Family and William V.N. Philip History Department Chair:
John and Elena Coumantaros, along with their daughter, Sophia ’21, established this chair in 2020 to honor William V.N. Philip, the school's eighth head of school and a lifelong historian and educator.  The chair supports the Head of the History Department.
Charlie Griffith 

Contact Us

995 Hopmeadow Street
Simsbury, Connecticut 06070

P. (860) 408-3000
F. (860) 408 3001
Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy as to Students
In keeping with our support for a diverse community, Westminster abides by all applicable federal and state laws and does not discriminate on the basis of any protected characteristic, including race, color, religious creed, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national and ethnic origin, ancestry and/or disability in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered program. Westminster admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the School. 
© Copyright 2022 Westminster School  |  Privacy Policy
AP® and Advanced Placement® are registered trademarks of the College Board. Used with permission.