Detail Page

Academic Awards Announced

Head of School Bill Philip and the Westminster School faculty are pleased to announce the following student academic awards:
The Advanced Placement Program recognizes students for outstanding performances on AP Exams. In addition to many members of the Class of 2020 who graduated last spring, many current students earned recognition.
AP Scholar
Students who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams:
Class of 2020
Mairead K. Defronzo, Mary D. Dutton, Charles Dye, Alexander S. Ellis,
Alison E. Hatfield, Dylan T. Holley, Brooke E. Nani, Karen K. Newton, Wesley D. Oltsch, Travis H. Paulsen, David H. Stevenson, Aleksandra Szopa, Margaretta S. Van Leuven, Theodore L. Vandervoorn, Laura E. Velez, Christina Zahringer
Class of 2021
Katherine J. Ashe, Francesca P. Bradley, Adam Cerny, Samantha C. DeLeo, Rex W. Flinn, Olivia R. Goldstuck, Gemma E. Green, Yoo Jung Ha,  Lucy Jones, Leonid Kolomeiskii, Nicholas E. Mascolo, Elena D. McGuigan, Brian M. Opdenaker, Shui Se Phoe, Simonne Ponce, Louisa C. Rasmussen, Rainerio P. Reyes, William G. Rizzo, Sydney G. Schuster, Katherine C. Sotirhos, Sasha M. van Vredenburch, James D. Vincent, Casey L. Winslow 
Class of 2022
Ashlyn K. Clapprood 
AP Scholar With Honor
Students who earned an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more AP exams:
Class of 2020
Gabriela R. Marcus, Elizabeth A. McCoy, Olivia Zhang
Class of 2021
Alexandra S. Buerck, Nathalie Charles, David D. Harris, Harrison J. Lehman, Hanxiao Li, William O. Murphy, Cooper S. Organ, Peter Q. Plumb, Elizabeth T. Thorson, Alisa Toner
Class of 2022
Serin Lee, Lillian Marvin
AP Scholar With Distinction
Students who earned an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more exams:
Class of 2020
Eve M. Cathcart, Eda Chen, Abigail M. Davis, Justin E. Flaks, Juan J. Garibay, Allison L. Kijanka, Geena Kim, Chan Ju Lee, Daniela Mays-Sanchez, Laura Mittelman, Gabrielle C. Nemarich, Justin L. Parsons, Phalla Phoap, Daniel P. Pinckney, Liam M. Seeley, Elizabeth A. Suit, Quoc Anh Truong, Christopher E. Turino, Bethany M. Winters, Vernita Zhai
Class of 2021
Isabel L. Bailey, Aleyna Baki, Anne C. Brewer, Tremaine Dawson, Sojung Kwon, Jean-Claude E. Lane, Allison D Masthay, Grant McCargo, Olatunji Osho-Williams, Jiwoong Park, Eva M. Pfeiffer, Edward K. Shin, Hudson Stedman, Kien To,  Jiefei Wu   
Class of 2022
Qifei Min   
National AP Scholar
Students who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams:
Class of 2020
Eve M. Cathcart, Eda Chen, Daniel P. Pinckney, Elizabeth A. Suit
Class of 2021
Aleyna Baki, Jiwoong Park, Kien To    
At the end of each academic year, academic departments award Book Prizes to students who distinguish themselves in various areas of study. These prizes are awarded to Third, Fourth and Fifth Formers in the fall.
Excellence in Biology: Jean-Claude Lane ’21
Excellence in Chemistry: Serin Lee ’22
Richard P. Hopley Excellence in Latin: Michelle Wu ’21
The Kevin Kwok-Fun Chau ’79 Prize for Excellence in Chinese: Jessie Kwon ’21
WALKS Constitutional Essay Finalists: Hudson Stedman ’21 and Aleyna Baki ’21
Fifth Form History Essay Prize: Andrea Warrick ’21
The Robert Rodney History Prize: Tia MacDonald ’23
At the end of the year, the faculty as a whole votes Book Prizes to Fifth Formers for distinguished academic achievement.
Harvard-Radcliffe Book Prize: Jean-Claude Lane
Awarded to a member of the Fifth Form who displays outstanding academic achievement, enthusiastic commitment to the dynamics of the classroom and an ability to articulate complex ideas clearly.
Yale Book Award: Allison Masthay
Awarded to a member of the Fifth Form whose innate curiosity and appetite for learning are infectious and whose initiatives and contributions to the school reflect a wide breadth of interests.  
Williams Book Award: Aleyna Baki
Awarded to a member of the Fifth Form who has achieved at the highest level in a range of classes, with a special interest in global affairs and economics. 
Trinity Book Award: Hudson Stedman
Awarded to a member of the Fifth Form whose academic talents range from architecture to languages, always showing tremendous energy and appetite for ideas. 
Director of Studies Book Prize: Matt Park
Awarded to a member of the Fifth Form who sets high standards for all of his work and consistently achieves at the highest levels, with a special passion for the fusion of math and sciences.

Contact Us

995 Hopmeadow Street
Simsbury, Connecticut 06070

P. (860) 408-3000
F. (860) 408 3001
Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy as to Students
Westminster admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the School; and Westminster does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered program.
© Copyright 2020 Westminster School  |  Privacy Policy